Question 20-Describe your most difficult breakup and what you learned from it

In 2010, my relationship of five years ended. It was long distance but we’d see each other whenever possible. Unfortunately graduate school along with fears got in the way causing certain unforeseen actions to play out which I refused to forgive. It was difficult in the sense we established love, spoke of marriage after undergrad but plans changed on my part and I decided to go further with school. I asked him to wait (maybe selfish perhaps) but he tried to start something new and maintain our relationship. Nothing remains in the dark and I found out. I wasn’t angry at her, I was angry at him and at myself for maybe being too selfish. I didn’t accept his calls and apologies in the aftermath and we went our separate ways. My learnings from the relationship have been primarily positive opting to remember the good times, words in action and love nurtured. Souls may kiss but not necessarily stay together but that’s life! Pick yourself and try again!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

