Question 11- Your worst/funniest/most embarrassing date

So worst. I’d have to say when one of my best friends and I decided to ring in the new year in Naples, FL with the guys we were dating at the time. Well, I met the guy I was dating during a homecoming celebration one year. We started talking on the phone, getting to know each other better (we didn’t live in the same city) and I decided to invite him as my date to bring in the New Year . The three of us (best friend, her date and myself) arrived in Naples the evening of the 31st for our dinner reservation.Whilst at the restaurant and having a drink, my date calls three times to say I’m on my way and be there soon. We’re finishing dinner and he texts to say I can’t make it to Naples, something came up, I’ll tell you later. I was livid, I refused his calls and we headed out to the New Year’s party downtown. We had fun and after the party, I paid attention to a  river of texts from my no-show date and alas he’s calling again. This time I take the call and he begins to tell me his story. Bottom line, he was untruthful about things going on in his life including his living (apparently he was between jobs) and his financial situation which explained his absence. On the night we met, he felt he needed to be ‘that guy who has his life together’ to engage my interest. Fast forward… although he valued a friendship with me, friendship starts with truthfulness, which he understood.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

